Who is Eligible?

The following states participate in the VISION USA program:

Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, and West Virginia.

If your state is not listed, see state run programs.

VISION USA provides a basic eye examination to low-income individuals in the US.  Member doctors of the American Optometric Association donate services.  To qualify, applicants must meet all five of the eligibility requirements outlined below:

1.  Have no private or government insurance, including Medicare or Medicaid

2.  Have income below the established level based on household size — Income Level Chart

3.  Have not had an eye exam within the past 24 months

4.  Must be a US citizen or legal resident with a social security or legal resident number

5.  Have not received a doctor referral through the VISION USA program in the last two years

Maximum of 4 applicants per household per year.


A contact lens exam and / or contacts are not available through this program. Eyewear may be provided at no cost or for a small fee/donation in some states but is not guaranteed.

To contact VISION USA, please send an email to VISIONUSA@aoa.org


Your investment will ensure that The AOA Foundation continues to provide immediate relief to those in need in the wake of natural disasters, vision care to needy Americans, scholarships for optometry students, preservation of optometry’s history and public education about the need for a lifetime of vision care.

©2017 Optometry Cares – The AOA Foundation | Contact Us Twitter icon Facebook icon